Crystal’s Most Anticipated Summer Movies of 2015

summer
I’ve been uncharacteristically absent from the 2015 movie scene so far (only 4 new releases and 9 theatre trips!) but I’m hoping to more than make up for lost time this summer. Last summer’s movie crop turned out surprisingly well (at least in my opinion) so hopefully this year follows suit.

Most Anticipated
Indies I Hope Play Near Me

I Can’t Seem To Care About…
The End Is Near

 

Crystal’s Top 15 Most Anticipated Summer Movies of 2015

15. Tomorrowland (May 22)
tomorrowland_ver5
A month out from release and I still know next to nothing about this movie, which is kind of exciting in 2015. Really, all I needed to know was that Brad Bird (Iron Giant, The Incredibles, Ratatouille, MISSION: IMPOSSIBLE – GHOST PROTOCOL) was involved and I was ready to hand Tomorrowland my money.

14. Jurassic World (June 12)
jurassic_world
The actual clips I’ve seen of Jurassic World don’t exactly inspire confidence but the trailers are full of spectacular spectacle and at this point in my life, I’m not in a place to turn down Chris Pratt in a vest running away from dinosaurs.


13.
Paper Towns (July 24)
paper_towns_xlg
Last summer’s The Fault In Our Stars was a serviceable, occasionally touching piece of summertime cinema. I have yet to read the John Green novel that this film is based on (it’s part of the “Books Crystal Owns But Has Yet To Read” collection) but the trailer was fairly interesting and I’m always willing to give a Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber screenplay a chance.


12.
 San Andreas (May 29)
san_andreas_ver3_xlg
The trailer is creepy-cool, it’s been a long while since we’ve had a good old fashioned disaster movie and come on, who doesn’t want to see The Rock take on The Big One?


11.
 Me and Earl and The Dying Girl (June 12)
me_and_earl_and_the_dying_girl
The trailer is interesting and promising (if a bit too cutesy) but the reviews I heard coming out of Sundance give me faith that this isn’t just another “quirky indie,” it’s worth checking out.

10. Ant-Man (July 17)
ant_man_ver2_xlg
Look, this isn’t the Ant-Man any of us wanted but it’s the Ant-Man we’re getting. And let’s be honest, at this point my expectations have been lowered to such a degree that there’s a good chance I might actually come out of this pleasantly surprised. I’ll just try to push Joss Whedon’s comments earlier this week about Edgar Wright’s canned script out of my mind and hope for the best.

9. Southpaw (July 24)
southpaw
Jake Gyllenhaal has been doing the most for a while now and that’s basically the entire reason why this film is a must see for me.


8.
 Sleeping With Other People (August 21)
Sleeping with Other People Movie
I’d be excited about any type of movie starring Alison Brie and Jason Sudeikis but the fact that this movie is from Leslye Headland, writer/director of 2012’s criminally underrated Bachelorette, and is said to be not only revitalizing the romantic comedy but redefining it? I’m on board.


7.
 Slow West (May 15)
slow_west
I don’t know too much about this movie but I saw the trailer the other day and thought it looked up my alley. Plus, Michael Fassbender. And it’s an A24 release, which always grabs my attention.


6.
 Live From New York! (June 12)
live_from_new_york
I don’t know if you’ve heard but I’m a fan of Saturday Night Live (this is a poor attempt at a joke because I wrote a rambling, gooey love letter to the show a couple months ago on this very site). I’ve read every book available on the show, watched every nostalgic special and ate February’s SNL 40 broadcast up with a spoon so I don’t expect this retrospective documentary to teach me anything new nor do I expect it to be as enlightening as James Franco’s 2010 behind-the-scenes doc, Saturday Night, but I’ll always welcome the chance to revisit one of my favorite subjects.


5.
 Inside Out (June 19)
inside_out_ver3
It’s been a while since I was excited for a new Pixar release (oh, how the mighty have fallen) but both the premise and cast (Amy Poehler as the personification of joy. I’m sold already.) have me looking forward to Inside Out and hoping that Pixar has finally turned the corner on being less than great.


4.
 Magic Mike XXL (July 1)
magic_mike_xxl_xlg
When Steven Soderbergh’s Magic Mike was released in 2012, I was probably one of the few women on earth who was satisfied with the outcome. As I overheard in the ladies room after the film, people were expecting a cheesetastic male version of Showgirls and felt duped when they instead received a scathing analysis of the American dream. (Dat cinematography though, ladies!) Thankfully, we live in a world where we can have our (beef)cake and eat it too so here we have Magic Mike XXL, aka “The Movie You Thought You Were Going To See Three Years Ago.” If it’s as good as its predecessor, fantastic. If it’s not, oh no, poor me, I had to watch Channing Tatum strip for 2 hours. There has never been a situation that was more win/win. Oh and while directorial duties were handed off to Gregory Jacobs (a frequent Soderbergh collaborator), Soderbergh served as cinematographer, camera operator and editor.


3.
 Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation (July 31)
mission_impossible__rogue_nation_xlg
Tom Cruise is really good at movies and 2011’s Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol was not just one of Tom Cruise’s best but one of the best action movies I’ve seen period. I can’t wait to see if this follow-up lives up to my ridiculous expectations.


2.
 Trainwreck (July 17)
trainwreck
As stated above, I love SNL but I have no problem stating that Inside Amy Schumer is probably the best sketch comedy show on television right now. (How has this not gone viral yet?) Judd Apatow has a knack for helping up-and-coming comedy voices nurture their talent and I’m excited to see the result of his collaboration with Amy Schumer. Plus Bill Hader in a rom-com, which has been weird dream of mine for the past decade.


1.
 Avengers: Age of Ultron (May 1)
avengers_age_of_ultron_ver10_xlg
OBVIOUSLY.


Honorable Mentions:
– Mad Max: Fury Road (May 15)
mad_max_fury_road_ver10_xlg
Mad Max holds no nostalgic value for me, I’m really just interested in seeing Tom Hardy and Charlize Theron kick ass in a really weird looking blockbuster spectacle.


– Spy (June 5)
spy_xlg
Last summer’s Tammy was a bizarre misfire but for the most part, I have yet to tire of Melissa McCarthy’s schtick. For some reason, Paul Feig hasn’t either as he’s written and directed yet another vehicle for her. And in case you didn’t get the memo with Neighbors last summer, Rose Byrne is any comedy’s secret weapon. I’m thinking this’ll be worth at least a matinee for me.


– Ted 2
(June 26 )
ted_two_xlg
I’m a special snowflake: I didn’t love the original Ted and I was a lot warmer on A Million Ways To Die In The West than most people were. I’m interested to see what this sequel does partly because I still kind of like Seth MacFarlane sometimes but mostly because this sequel seems completely unnecessary, unwarranted and kind of irrelevant now.


Sundance Hits I’d Like To See But I’m Trying Not To Get Too Pumped For Because Who Knows If They’ll Play Locally Enough For Me To Actually See Them

Dope (June 19)
dope

– The D Train (May 8)

d_train_xlg

– The End of The Tour (July 31)
end of the tour

– The Overnight (June 19)
overnight_xlg

– Welcome To Me (May 1)
welcome_to_me_ver2_xlg

 


Top 5 Movies I Can’t Seem To Make Myself Care About

5. Jurassic World (June 12)
jurassic_world_ver2_xlg
But seriously folks, what’s the over/under on this actually turning out okay?


4.
 Terminator Genisys (July 1) / The Fantastic Four (August 7)
term4
But I mean, is anyone really looking forward to these?


3.
 Poltergeist (May 22)
poltergeist
The original Poltergeist was a really big deal for me back in the day. I’m not mad that they’ve remade it, I’m just disappointed that it looks this generic and silly.


2.
 Aloha (May 29)
aloha_xlg
I can’t figure out if my problem with Cameron Crowe’s recent filmography is that I’m too old for this shit or if he’s too old for this shit but man, did the trailer for this movie get under my skin in a bad way. With a cast like this, it’s going to be hard for me to stay away but I have a feeling I’m going to be gritting my teeth the entire time.


1.
 Pitch Perfect 2 (May 15)
pitch_perfect_two_ver3_xlg
YOU GUYS. Everyone said the first one was magical and hilarious so I went to see it and it decidedly wasn’t. This looks like the EXACT. SAME. MOVIE. YOU GUYS.

 

Comment below or tweet me @talentedwreason. And follow my on-going film diary at Letterboxd.com to see if my anticipation/disdain was warranted! I leave you with one final category…

 


Proof There Is No God

entourage_xlg

One thought on “Crystal’s Most Anticipated Summer Movies of 2015

  1. Pingback: Crystal’s Best of 2015: The Movies – Talented With Reason

Leave a Reply

